Wicked Wednesday 226 – Friend (Two Best Friends)

Codi waited at the bus depot for her best friend, Alicia to arrive. Ever since Alicia’s parents were killed in an accident Codi and the military had become her family. She had gone so far as to buzz her hair short and was often stereotyped as being gay. Codi wished she were; she’d been half in love with her best friend for ages. But Alicia,  while accepting of Codi and her sexuality, had never even seemed curious.

Alicia stepped off the bus and scanned the crowd searching for her dark-haired friend but even in her boots she only stood about 5’3″ and was too short to see much. Codi watched Alicia looking around for a moment and smiled to herself at the look of annoyance that crossed her friend’s face when she couldn’t spot the nearly 6′ tall Codi in the crowd. The taller woman raised a hand, “Alicia, over here!” The soldier grinned and ducked through the crowd (one advantage of being short, she thought) and exuberantly flung herself into Codi’s arms just like always. Codi easily caught the petite woman and spun her around laughing breathlessly. “Hi LeeLee. Missed you.”

“I missed you too Codi, a lot. The last one was rough.” Codi hugged Alicia again and they headed to Codi’s beat up sedan, always in need of repair. “You wanna grab some beer and talk about it? Or would you rather let things go for now?” Alicia sighed, “I don’t even want to think about it right now. But I’m still up for a beer.” The women both laughed and after a quick stop, they were on their way to Codi’s place for a night of drinking and talking and catching up. Alicia grew pensive after a beer and wondered if she should bring up something that she’d realized while she was on tour. Nearly getting killed in the line of duty wasn’t something she wanted to tell Codi about, but she did want to tell her about what she’d learned. She was scared though. What if she fumbled what she was trying to say or if Codi didn’t want to hear it? Her overwhelming thoughts consumed her. “Hello. Earth to Alicia. You OK?” “What? Oh, yeah, I’m OK. My mind just wandered a bit that’s all.” She took another swig of her beer, screwed up her courage, and decided that this had to be said.

“Codi, I have to tell you at least one thing about my tour. And I don’t think you’ll like it, but you need to know; I want you to know. We were pinned by unfriendly fire and waiting for a rescue when I peeked around a corner to do a safety check and one of the shots grazed so close I heard it scrape my helmet. If I had been just a little further out I wouldn’t be here today. And that really, really scared me. It made re-evaluate a lot of things in my life. Like leaving the Army, like settling down and having a family, and I want you to be part of that family. I can’t imagine my life without you.”

“LeeLee, you know I’ll always be here for you. You’re my best friend and have been for years.” Codi took a deep breath before continuing. “And…well, I love you. I have for a long time and never said a word because I figured I wasn’t quite your type.” Codi dropped her head waiting for tears or a display of the temper that had so often gotten her diminutive friend in trouble in school. Instead she got neither and what happened left her stunned and speechless. Alicia leaned over, took Codi’s face in her hands and kissed her gently, tentatively hoping she wasn’t making the wrong move. “I love you too, Codi. I realized  when I came so close to getting shot in the head that I didn’t want to be without you. Ever.”

Codi crushed Alicia against her in a fierce hug and kissed her, hungrily, but gently at the same time. Alicia wiggled until she managed to be sitting in Codi’s lap and held onto her as though this was her only safe port in a storm. And maybe it was. The two women slowly undressed one another taking brief breaks from kissing only as they had to, hands exploring bodies, learning touches. Alicia trailed her kisses down Codi’s neck and the two both shivered together. “LeeLee, are you sure? This can always come later.” Alicia giggled and looked at Codi, “So can we.” Codi grinned, kissed her LeeLee once more and flipped her onto her back and buried her face into her best friend’s snatch licking and teasing and sucking over and over and over until Alicia cried out her name and bucked her hips against Codi’s face,unable to stay still. “Hmmm, you’re right”, Codi mumbled, “We can come later.” The taller woman scooped up her lover and carried her to bed. Fate finds a way when all else fails. And they found what they were looking for. Lovers and best friends.

wickedwednesday

And in case you missed it you can find last week’s Wicked Wednesday here.

2 thoughts on “Wicked Wednesday 226 – Friend (Two Best Friends)

Leave a Reply

